Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Change UK party Collapses


The anti-Brexit Change UK party has collapsed just four months after their formation. 

six of their eleven Members of Parliament have opted to leave the party after their disastrous showing at the European elections.  

Heidi Allen, Chuka Umunna, Sarah Wollaston, Angela Smith, Luciana Berger, and Gavin Shuker all opted to leave the party and would be “returning to supporting each other as an independent grouping of MPs.

The anti-Brexit MPs said their job now was “to provide collegiate leadership to bring people together in the national interest. We know the landscape will continue to shift within the political environment and have concluded that by returning to sit as independents, we will be best placed to work cross-party and respond flexibly.”

previous leader Heidi Allen is among those leaving the party, leaving Anna Soubry to lead the remaining MPs.

In a personal statement, former CUK MP Chuka Ummana said: "The movement built around Change UK has an important role to play in this, however, whilst I believe it should carry on as an organisation, I do not believe Change UK should carry on in its current form. This has put me in a fundamentally different place not only to other Change UK parliamentary colleagues, but also its activists and candidates who should be free to take the party in the direction they wish”

The Change UK Party was formed by liberal globalist MPs who left Corbyn's Labour train-wreck and Treason May's Tories.