Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Covid19(84): Just 12 Tories Rebel in Face of Rule of Six


Just 12 Conservative Members of Parliament rebelled against the Tory government and voted down the controversial ‘rule of six’ coronavirus social distancing law.

While the law is already in force and the motion voted on Tuesday night was purely retrospective, it gave the so-called band of Conservative rebels the opportunity to offer a protest against the government’s rule of six, which limits socialising to no more than six people. Many Tories called for the number to be increased to eight and for children to be omitted from the total count.

However, just 12 MPs lodged their protest, amongst them several well-known Brexiteers. The dissenters were: Peter Bone, Sir Graham Brady, Philip Davies, Richard Drax, Philip Hollobone, Esther McVey, Huw Merriman, Henry Smith, Desmond Swayne, Robert Syms, Charles Walker, William Wragg.